Morristown DUI Attorney
Penalties for DUI in Tennessee
In the state of Tennessee it is illegal for an individual to operate a
motor vehicle or to be in control of a motor vehicle while intoxicated.
If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is 0.08% or greater then you are legally
intoxicated regardless of how you feel. There is also an implied consent
law in Tennessee which means that if you are driving on the roads in this
state then you are consenting to any chemical tests that you are required
to perform. A refusal of these tests or a violation of implied consent
laws is an automatic license suspension for one year for a first offense
and two years for a second offense.
If you are arrested and your BAC is determined to be 0.08% or higher and
you were in control of a motor vehicle then you will face DUI charges
and penalties of jail time up to 11 months, license suspension for one
year, up to $1,500 in fines, possible
ignition interlock device installation and other penalties at the judge's discretion if you
are convicted of your first DUI. Any subsequent DUI convictions can carry
even greater penalties, there are also enhancements for DUI convictions
where it is your second within a five year period, or if your BAC reading
is 0.20% or higher.
Hamblen County DUI Defense: Talk to our firm!
If you have been charged with DUI then you will face some very serious
and life-altering penalties in Morristown, Knoxville, Hamblen County,
or Knox County. For this and other reasons it is vitally important that you have
skillful representation of your case on your side in order to maximize your chances of a favorable outcome
of your case in court. A
Morristown criminal defense lawyer from The Bowlin Law Firm will be able to provide you with this representation
and legal assistance if you choose to work with us.
Contact our firm today to discuss your case and how we may help you.